Home > Uncategorized > School Geek Squad

School Geek Squad

I have been busy lately trying to find new and innovative ideas for my classroom.  But my latest idea came as I drove 20 miles to work on a friends fax machine.  How cool would it be if a high school ran their own version of the Best Buy “Geek Squad.”  It would be kind of like a work release program.  Students could get credit for going out into the community to help people for simple computer problems.  It would be a great way to get them experience and an assist to the community.

I know someone out there is thinking, won’t this take jobs away from computer repair businesses, but I do not think it would.  They would be fixing or solving basic level problems, ones that someone does not want to pay someone a hundred dollars to fix.  Also, this would be a great way for those businesses to find their future employees!  I have a meeting in two weeks with a couple of my districts tech people, and this is an idea I will surely bring up.

  1. June 25, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    This is certainly a great idea. The only things I would be concerned about are liability, ensuring that students don’t make things worse than they already are and getting students wrapped around the axle. The most important thing to ensure, is that students don’t lose someone’s data. That is the kiss of death. Also be cognizant of personal safety issues. The buddy system might not be a bad idea.

    I worked for small computer integration firm back in the 90’s and dealing with paying business customers was a serious pain at times. No sooner had I fixed one problem, another would surface. “You broke my computer!” people would say. No, I didn’t break your computer – that was also broken the last time I was here, you just didn’t know it. Then you’ve got those that claim “I didn’t do anything and then it just stopped working” that won’t tell you what they jacked up. That’s always a barrel of laughs. Don’t get me wrong, all the technicians were very successful at resolving issues, but at least once a week, we would get a real dozy that would send someone down a rabbit hole for a day.

    Just remember, simple computer problems are not always as “simple” as they appear.

    Good luck with your initiative.

    • June 26, 2010 at 1:42 am

      Excellent points and ideas! I already started thinking about the liability aspect. I think for a student to have this possibility they would have to have meet certain requirements in courses and grades. It could be part of a program students would have to take and this would be the last part.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

