Home > Uncategorized > Have Tech, Will Travel

Have Tech, Will Travel

Sbhs

On Thursday last week I was given the opportunity to present a Technology In-Service at South Beloit High School, in South Beloit, IL.  This was the first time I had been hired by a school district to lead an in-service, and boy was I nervous.  My nervousness proved somewhat well founded when that morning I learned that their servers power supply died and the network was down.  I ended up presenting for the first hour with my Droid X and a Doc Cam!  I didn’t even know that a Prezi would load on a Droid X, but I found out it works great on it.

After the minor technically difficulty, everything went smoothly.  The teachers at the school were amazing!  They eagerly soaked up the many websites and examples I showed them and by the end of the day each teacher had created four lesson plans they could use in their classrooms.  Every teacher there understood the necessity for technology and how it could help students achieve their best.  I was more impressed today when I received this message from a teacher named Dee, “Hey Justin, I actually used something you showed us on Friday! Thanks! http://prezi.com/q8gf9tbfs90y/yellowstones-super-volcano/” 

It was great to see teachers fired up and excited about technology, and it was even better to have had the chance to work with them!  So thank you everyone at SBHS for allowing me to come down and work with you.  Hopefully I get the opportunity to see you all again soon.  Also, thank you for the kind comments!

  • You did a great job, Justin. Best SIP day ever.
  • Good job, Justin. Everyone thought you were great.
  • Relaxing after a fun night with @jepc71 and he got me to use #edmodo for my classes next year, which I’m pumped about.
  • @jepc71 ……did an amazing job with our in service tech. training today! Thanks Justin!
  • We just had one of our best SIP days in 5 years at SBHS thx to Justin Cowen!! @jepc71

 

If you are a school district looking for someone to provide an in-service on Web 2.0 or Technology, please feel free to contact me at justincowen@gmail.com.  

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

