Home > Uncategorized > Edmodo, Making Paternity Leave Easy

Edmodo, Making Paternity Leave Easy

Any day now I will have to disappear from my classroom to be with my wife as we welcome our second child, and for someone like me, the thought of leaving my classroom gives me great anxiety.  It is not that I do not trust my students, it is that many substitute teachers seem uncomfortable in Computers.  What has helped me greatly though is a free website I started using in my classroom everyday, Edmodo.  It has allowed me to post assignments, calendars, and daily assignment sheets online for students to access.  In fact, for the first time in possibly 5 years of teaching, I have all my lesson plans set for an entire month ahead of time!

When I explained to all the students that I would be gone for a bit, and showed them where to access all the information for the rest of the school year, they even seemed relieved.  I think they may have been more anxious to have me gone, then I was to leave them.  They enjoyed being able to view a calendar on Edmodo that outlined the entire month and showed them start dates for projects and due dates.  

If you have yet to try Edmodo in your classroom, I highly recommend you take some time and explore it.  It is very teacher friendly and student friendly.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

