Home > Uncategorized > HTML Mix-Up

HTML Mix-Up

animoto_360p.mp4 Watch on Posterous

Recently I was teaching my 8th grade students how to create webpages using HTML.  This has proven in the past not to be the most exciting unit for students.  I decided this year to try and spruce it up using gaming in the classroom.  

I created three webpages and cut the HTML script up into 12 parts.  I divided the classroom into two groups and each individual received one line of script.  They then had to arrange themselves in the proper order to create a webpage.  I did not tell the students what the webpage was suppose to look like, so they had to discuss how a well designed page would be laid out.  

This proved very successful!  Students liked that they got to get up and move around (something that doesn’t happen often in a computers class).  Also, I found that students who normally weren’t very vocal, really stepped up during this assignment.  If you are interested in this project, please let me know and I can send the files to you that I used.

 

Video on Animoto: http://animoto.com/play/r1MA1s8LxxhZd90Sun80Ew

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

